Yahoo Answers is shutting down on May 4th, 2021 (Eastern Time) and beginning April 20th, 2021 (Eastern Time) the Yahoo Answers website will be in read-only mode. There will be no changes to other Yahoo properties or services, or your Yahoo account. You can find more information about the Yahoo Answers shutdown and how to download your data on this help page.

Trouble Focusing?

I have trouble focusing on work and studying. It doesn't matter if I am stressed or not. I am a university student, and I cannot pay attention in class (in person or online). When doing my own studies at home, I cannot get through any assignment, readings, notes, videos, etc. I tend to get distracted after 30 seconds to a couple of minutes of attempted studying and will wander off to do something else or fidget around with stuff, or even mess around on my phone. 

I keep trying to set "trap" or "reward" systems to try to build better habits to help me stay focused. I look at my GPA, which is decent, but I want so hard to focus and increase it. I cannot stay focused on tasks. Tasks that should be quick and simple take me several hours or days to complete. I have to read and reread, and cannot retain any information, whatsoever. This has happened ever since elementary school, and it is only getting worse. I am almost 29.

I was thinking about maybe seeing some sort of psychologist, and was wondering if anyone has some sort of advice as to what kind of psychologist to see and what to ask/seek?

4 Answers

Relevance
  • Kate
    Lv 4
    1 month ago
    Favorite Answer

So as a RN, the symptoms you described 

sounds a lot like ADD. I know personally 

because I have it. There are medications to help with this. That being said, I would recommend seeing a psychiatrist to properly diagnose you. 

• 1 month ago

I can give you self-help advice that might help, but I can't say whether or not you might benefit from therapy. You can take a depression screening test online such as CESD R.