Yahoo Answers is shutting down on May 4th, 2021 (Eastern Time) and the Yahoo Answers website is now in read-only mode. There will be no changes to other Yahoo properties or services, or your Yahoo account. You can find more information about the Yahoo Answers shutdown and how to download your data on this help page.

Anonymous
Anonymous asked in Social SciencePsychology · 2 months ago

Can I still drive, if I think I am a horrible driver?

First, I have a horrible fear of driving. I don't know why but perhaps it is because I got in a terrible accident when I was a child. I'm also afraid of getting in an accident. 

Second, I don't really understand driving. I don't know if this is because I have a slight disability....but, I usually don't know where I am going. My sense of direction is absolutely horrible. When someone is like go north on this avenue, I don't know what they are saying. 

Third, I really think I suck at driving. My dad also claims I don't know how to stay in my lane sometimes when driving. I also don't know how to parallel park to save my life. 

I could learn to drive properly.... or I can just use public transportation my whole life. I heard it's cheaper that way, but I may not ever feel truly independent, hmm..

7 Answers

Relevance
  • 1 month ago

Sadly, no you can not drive.

You stated enough that show you're not ready.

• 1 month ago

Some people rely on public transportation. Something you might want to try is virtual driving. There are driving instructors that use computer simulation and you can buy software that lets you pretend driving. I've seen a video game that lets the user pretend to be a truck driver. Maybe you can get rid of this feeling with computer use. 

To an experienced driver, the car is like an extension of the driver's body. When I was learning to drive, there was a moment when driving was not like operating a machine. It was like the car was an animal and I was its brain.  

• Anonymous
    1 month ago