Yahoo Answers is shutting down on May 4th, 2021 (Eastern Time) and beginning April 20th, 2021 (Eastern Time) the Yahoo Answers website will be in read-only mode. There will be no changes to other Yahoo properties or services, or your Yahoo account. You can find more information about the Yahoo Answers shutdown and how to download your data on this help page.
If a criminal case in Nebraska gets dismissed without prejudice, is there a time limit (statute of limitations) for them to reopen the case?
I can't seem to find specific information about this online. My boyfriend got charged with a few criminal charges and the case was dismissed without prejudice. Months later, he suddenly got arrested (yesterday) and told that they reopened the case. It has been months since they dismissed it, so is there a time limit where it is not legal to reopen the case. It seems to vary by state, and Nebraska's laws seem extremely complicated. I'm waiting on a call back from a lawyer, but is there anyone who knows law that can help me out with this question in the meantime?
- STEVEN FLv 71 month ago
The ORIGINAL Statute of Limitations to charge you with the crime still applies.
- Anonymous1 month ago
It's USUALLY 3 years in Nebraska, but without reading the actual Court Order there is no way to know. It would appear to me that if the DA chose to "reopen the case," the statute has not expired.
- Spock (rhp)Lv 71 month ago
the time limit is usually 3 years. however, for the worst crimes, there is NO time limit.
- MorningfoxLv 71 month ago
Statute of limitations generally run for years. The exact time depends on the crime being charged. In Nebraska, many felonies are 3 years. A few are 7 years.
- How do you think about the answers? You can sign in to vote the answer.
- KathyLv 71 month ago
It depends on the crime involved.