Yahoo Answers is shutting down on May 4th, 2021 (Eastern Time) and the Yahoo Answers website is now in read-only mode. There will be no changes to other Yahoo properties or services, or your Yahoo account. You can find more information about the Yahoo Answers shutdown and how to download your data on this help page.

Renting House for the first time?

Looking to rent a house for the first time and need some help.

I am a student and am looking to rent with 3 others our target price is around $3,200/month. I was wondering what we will need to do to qualify for the lease and how that will work. based on my research I am seeing that you need two or three times the rent cost as income. I believe that our combined income will be around $7,200/month.

-Are we able to qualify for a normal lease based on this?

-If not, what is the best way to fix this? Should I get a cosigner (I think I can get one)

-Assuming we get approved can all four of us be on the lease or will it just be one or two

Thanks!

9 Answers

Relevance
  • Judy
    Lv 7
    2 months ago

Usually you need 3x the rent as income.

• 2 months ago

Wow--that's really HIGH rent. Isn't there some place you could find that would be much less expensive?  Four people--that's $800/month each. can you honestly afford that?

You are all going to have to qualify for renting--credit checks, income, maybe background checks as well--and not knowing where you are, it's not possible to tell you how much you're going to need to do this. Or what other qualifications you will be required to have. 

Don't quibble over 2-3 times or 3-4 times the monthly rent--that's not your only concern. .Your income and stability will be more important here--and you will ALL need to have it. 

• 2 months ago