Yahoo Answers is shutting down on May 4th, 2021 (Eastern Time) and beginning April 20th, 2021 (Eastern Time) the Yahoo Answers website will be in read-only mode. There will be no changes to other Yahoo properties or services, or your Yahoo account. You can find more information about the Yahoo Answers shutdown and how to download your data on this help page.

How can I politely tell my grandson to give up on his dreams?

Hello Yahoo!

My grandson wants to be a doctor, which is a very nice ambition but as a doctor myself I see no future in the medical industry for him. To put it lightly, he's very stupid and talentless at everything he does. He can't even cook an egg if he tried. I want to tell him to not even bother trying without upsetting him, he's turning 9 years old soon and I would hate to ruin his birthday. 

Thank you! 

6 Answers

Relevance
  • Anonymous
    1 month ago
    Favorite Answer

Let him crash and burn like a helicopter. 

• 3 weeks ago

He's turning 9 soon? He just looks up to you is probably all it is, and I would encourage him to explore what he's interested in. When he's older, his opinions will probably change change, or he might actually do really well with medical studies. Plus, most kids who say they want to be lawyers/doctors say it because of pressures from parents- not to mention that wanting to be a doctor is just a generic job at this age. He probably just likes the idea of helping people, so encourage him! Trust me, this will really help him in the long run, and you could risk harming your relationship if you put him down at such a young age.

• Anonymous
    1 month ago