Yahoo Answers is shutting down on May 4th, 2021 (Eastern Time) and beginning April 20th, 2021 (Eastern Time) the Yahoo Answers website will be in read-only mode. There will be no changes to other Yahoo properties or services, or your Yahoo account. You can find more information about the Yahoo Answers shutdown and how to download your data on this help page.

Anonymous
Anonymous asked in Science & MathematicsEngineering · 2 months ago

Is $55k low for an Electrical Designer?

I'm 25 and I've been an Electrical Designer at my first job out of college since June 2019. My one coworker, our senior-most Electrical Designer, has worked for the company for 16 years and has either designed every electrical system or provided the heavy basis for every electrical system that gets completed by someone else. However, he only makes $2.15/hr more than I do. We are Salary Non-Exempt, but even so, I only made $55k last year. The company does not pay annual raises like a lot of other companies do, which many believe is attributed to our top-heavy executive team (i.e. 2 executives are over a grand total of 16 people). 3 of our other 5 executives come from engineering backgrounds, but it seems they still don't understand how to do right by their senior engineering staff. My department has yet to retain a second Electrical Designer for 2 years (I'll be the first this year).

Update:

I have a BS in Electrical Engineering, with 2 co-ops. Our senior-most Electrical Designer also has a Bachelors in Engineering.

Update 2:

We do get cost of living (i.e. $0.03 every 4 months or so), but that's it.

6 Answers

Relevance
  • 1 month ago

Do not tell anyone you work with, but update your resume and start looking for a new job.  Decide what you want to do that is different from what you are doing now, and look for that.  If you just want more money, look for that.  If you live in a small town in say Kansas or Nebraska, your salary may be just fine.  In an urban area it is not that strong.