Anonymous
Anonymous asked in Family & RelationshipsSingles & Dating · 4 weeks ago

Dangers of possible Codependency?

I'm 44 years old and have been divorced twice, but I'm dating my best friends brother who is 35, and he has been living with me for quite a while now. His companionship is nice and the physical needs are being met. 

I'll be honest, he doesn't have much to offer. He is trying to start his own business and I'm  trying to help him start it. I'm an accountant so I'm able to support his accounting needs, provide him with a place to stay (otherwise, he would have to live with his parents), his car is broken so he is driving mine. 

He also has two kids that he doesn't seem to have custody of, but he has a hard time paying his ex wife any type of child support. His children are darling, and I have started to bond with them; but we don't see them that often. I actually miss the kids. For the most part, I stay completely out of his business but I'm curious what you're thoughts are on this situation. 

Update:

He is trying to start a career by owning his own business. I am lonely, the last of my three sons are about to leave the house, and his companionship is nice. 

6 Answers

Relevance
  • 4 weeks ago

You are free to mess up your life any way to want to. 

• i + i
    Lv 7
    4 weeks ago

No. No dangers, since what 

you described has nothing 

to do with codependency. 

• 4 weeks ago

If you were a male and your friend was a female everyone would think it was completely normal.  By role reversal this might be hypothetical but it shouldn't be any different from a man supporting his "wife".  You might be being used. But if you are happy there are worse things in life.

• n2mama
    Lv 7
    4 weeks ago