Anonymous asked in Science & MathematicsGeography · 1 month ago

Is Northern Ireland the same country as London?

8 Answers

  • 1 month ago

     London is not a country.

     Northern Ireland is variously described as a country, province, or region which is part   of the United Kingdom, whose capital is London.

     Located in the northeast of the island of Ireland, 

     Northern Ireland shares a border to the south and west with the Republic of Ireland.

  • Anonymous
    1 month ago

    United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland has a capital city of London

  • 1 month ago

    Your question is not clear and it can imply that London is a country. I believe you are asking if London and Northern Ireland are in the same country. The answer is yes and no.

    There is a sovereign state called the United Kingdom [of Great Britain and Northern Ireland] (UK). As the full name demonstrates Northern Ireland is part of it. London is the UK's capital city. Therefore, if you are talking about the UK, yes London and Northern Ireland are in the same country.

    The UK is considered to be composed of four countries, also called nations. They are England, Scotland, Wales (the latter three constituting Great Britain) and Northern ireland. If you are talking about the UK's four nations then the answer is no. London is in the country of England, of which it is the capital in addition to being the UK's capital. Northern ireland is a separate country and has its own capital, viz. Belfast.

  • Andrew
    Lv 7
    1 month ago

    The United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland is comprised of four constituent countries - England, Scotland, Wales, and Northern Ireland. The island of Britain - referred to as "Great Britain" to distinguish it from "Little Britain", i.e.: Brittany, a region of France, located across the English Channel, is where one can find England, Scotland, and Wales. Across the Irish Sea lies the island of Ireland. 83% of the land area of the island of Ireland belongs to the Republic of Ireland, a sovereign nation that is completely independent of the UK. London is the capital of England, and also serves as the capital city of the United Kingdom as a whole. The capital city of Northern Ireland is Belfast. England and Northern Ireland are separate constituent countries, but the four constituent countries of the UK come together to form one sovereign nation.  

    Attachment image
  • How do you think about the answers? You can sign in to vote the answer.
  • ?
    Lv 7
    1 month ago


    Country: United Kingdom

    The United Kingdom consists of four "member nations" and some other assorted territories

    (but note that the rest of the world generally views the United Kingdom as a single, unified nation).

    The four member nations:

    - England

    - Wales

    - Scotland

    - Northern Ireland

    London - is a city. It is the capital city of England and also the capital city of the United Kingdom


    Northern Ireland also has a capital city. Namely: Belfast.

    Other than England, the other "member nations" each has its own capital city and its own parliament, and within certain legal restrictions can establish its own laws and its own departments, etc. In England the UK Parliament also serves the role of the Parliament of England.

  • 1 month ago

    London, England is a city, not a country.

  • ?
    Lv 7
    1 month ago

    No. Two different islands. 

  • Barry
    Lv 6
    1 month ago

    No. But it is part of the United Kingdom. London is not a country either. It's the UK capital.

Still have questions? Get your answers by asking now.