Anonymous
Anonymous asked in Science & MathematicsEngineering · 1 month ago

im an engineering student. i cant help but compare myself with my peers. they're all very intelligent and naturally smart?

i managed to get in university because i worked really hard. i study and work hard but i believe im not naturally smart like my peers are and this has been bothering me..... i feel like im not fitted to be here but i REALLY WANT to be in this program and be an engineer. im just afraid that i cant reach this by hard work alone?? can i still be an engineer??? does anyone feel the same ? maybe online learning has been taking a toll on me

9 Answers

Relevance
  • Tom
    Lv 7
    1 month ago

Lots of times I had an "Smarter looking" classmates, but found "smartness" is often an illusion.  They were just better speakers or more social than me.----My grades turned out to be just as good (or better) than theirs---when I was able to somehow SEE their grades.-------Do not assume a classmate is necessarily smarter than you.  Too many times, I discovered they were just better talkers.

• 1 month ago

It is very hard to compare yourself to anyone because we all have different abilities. Height, weight, hair, eye color you can compare.  It is all moot anyway because it really depends on how hard you're willing to work. You might have to try harder than others in some things but you can succeed if you work hard enough. Don't waste a second in self-doubt. Use that time working towards your goal.

• Joe
    Lv 4
    1 month ago

What year are you?  If you make it past Physics, you have a fair chance of graduating.  Only 35 of 100 freshmen in engineering will graduate.  7 of those take five years - repeating Physics and other fun courses.  It has been this way for 100 years.  So yes.  They all felt the same.  The only thing new is you.  I guarantee you will graduate if you get in a study group and stay with them every day until you graduate.

• 1 month ago