Anonymous
Anonymous asked in Home & GardenDecorating & Remodeling · 1 month ago

What is the process in rebuilding a burnt home?

Okay so I am new to all this but have some construction background. I am looking at buying a burnt home. It is pretty bad but for the price tag of 8000 for a 4 bedroom home in the city it seems worth it. I don’t have tons of money so I am looking at doing as much of the work myself as possible. Idk where to start permit wise. Ik the first step would be removing all debris and gutting walls ceilings and insulation but someone that’s done this before please give me a little guidance. I have done tons of research already but I wanna hear from people that’s actually done it before. Also if I have to replace roof trusses is that a major thing because some of them are pretty charred up but the home has a new metal roof but some structural roof issues obviously.

Update:

I failed to mention I work in a lumber yard and I know lots of contractors, house builders plumbers, electricians, so that’s why I believe I can save lots of money not hiring out all the work. 

5 Answers

Relevance
  • 4 weeks ago

You FIRST need to have a meeting with your Building and Zoning LDepartment officials who may actuallywant to see the building to let you know how to proceed. I would not even THINK of moving forward without KNOWING what the town expects to having the house rebuilt up to building codes. Because, remember, the work has to be completed according to current codes.

I would get the home inspected before buying it so you KNOW what expenses you are in for. Otherwise you could be infor one helluva surprize to find out it is WAY more expensive than you ever imagined!

• 1 month ago

There was a season of legendary home restoration tv series "This Old House" which covered this after one of Tom Silva's relatives had a slight mishap with their house. It was Season 21 (link in sources).