should i stay in school or follow my dreams?

hi, a torn 17 year old here. I've always had dreams of becoming a screenwriter, i've written countless scripts and use my free time to spend writing more because it brings me so much joy. (not to mention the constant new ideas i have for scripts that pop into my head daily). currently im studying health and social care at btec in my local college and it's really getting me down, i'm behind on assignments and have so little motivation to do anything in regards to my course its actually laughable. this course would allow me to go to university if i get the right grades to study nursing but i couldn't think of anything worse for me personally than becoming a nurse. so my question to you is; do i drop my course (im 17 and in the uk you can leave school at 16) and pursue my dreams of becoming a screenwriter, or do i pull myself together and get realistic and submit to the life that i don't particularly want. I'm in the process of looking at literary agents but not sure if i should just grow up and do my college work...help?

5 Answers

Relevance
  • 1 month ago
    Favorite Answer

Stay in school and earn enough college credits so you can transfer to a a 4 year college that offers bachelors degree programs with majors in theatre or film. Or CHANGE YOUR degree program to something other than health sciences. I have THREE bachelors degrees with majors in American history geology and physical geography. I tried to become a professional astronomer. That was my passion, but I had and probably still have math testing anxiety. My master's degree is in geology.

You CAN CHANGE YOUR MAJOR multiple times OR DEGREE PROGRAM. 

• 1 month ago