Anonymous
Anonymous asked in Business & FinanceRenting & Real Estate · 1 month ago

Should I move out?

I'm currently in my last year of college after taking 1 year off to get a full time stable corporate job. Working full time and going to school full time I'm considering moving out to my own place after living with my parents these past couple years. I already pay for my share in bills, plus cover all my personal needs/expenses. My parents asked if I'm willing to pay some rent on top of all bills covered, but I may just make the move and have my own private space. I have nothing against helping them out more, I just don't want to feel stuck in the same space for much longer.

I have 12K in my bank account, make about 42K a year, and get about 3K in FAFSA twice a year to aid in school expenses. My 2020 Tax Returns are giving me back another 4K as well. My only big expense aside from bills is my student loan which I decided to start paying off early rather than let it defer and accumulate more interest Current payment is around $200 month. Car is paid off as well.

I'm looking to lease a room I found for about $1200/mo with all utilities included plus a $1000 deposit. They ask that I make 2x the rent and bank statements for the last 3 months which had always had above 5-6K.

I'm looking to get a weekend job to help cover small expenses such as going out with friends, etc.

I'm hoping to be done with school this year which then I'll be due for another annual review/raise from my company or I'll begin applying for other jobs with my given experience/education.

4 Answers

Relevance
  • 1 month ago

You realize of course that for $1,200.00 a month you can own a house.  Look into the benefits of having a mortgage as opposed to paying$1,200 a month for something that you will NEVER own.