Should I give up my job search and focus on my passion?

I graduated from college with a BFA in Creative Photography last May. I had recently worked with Apple as a customer service associate but resigned to focus on finishing my degree. That being said, I've looked for jobs since May. 

I have sent out approximately 140 degrees, have gotten MAYBE 3-4 interviews, and no offers. Everything else has been literal rejection. I'm getting increasingly frustrated because I'm qualified for the jobs I'm applying to, but am not getting hired. 

In all honestly, all I want to focus on is making art and focusing on filmmaking. I really don't know what a sit-down customer service job is going to do for me other than give me some cash. I would rather move somewhere with little money, get a barista/waitress job, and use my free time to make work. 

What should I ultimately do? I really do feel like giving up because I find no hope in the job search anymore. And I don't know if I'll be truly happy if I end up getting a "real job". 

5 Answers

Relevance
  • Anonymous
    1 month ago
    Favorite Answer

Your dreams are precious. Holding onto them when it's hard is worth it. I went to art school because it was my dream to be a designer and I had to drop out because I couldn't afford it. My dream died. Your dream dying can be as painful as a serious break up. Fell into depression and never learned to dream again. I was a walking husk and shell of a person after that just peddling my body for money to make ends meet. Taking any job I can.

Eventually, I self taught and did free work in the creative industry. My work wound up in Sephora, Magazines, went to fashion week, retouched celebrities like Tina Fey. I became a Professional high-end print retoucher without a degree because there's a lot of retouchers out there but not a lot of good ones. Eventually, I went on to becoming a photo producer and production manager of a photography studio. I've also modeled.