Trucking Business: Box Truck or Semi Truck?

Hey Everyone

A little about me:

So the pandemic has been a wake up call for a lot of us, including myself to invest in a business. I'm an entrepreneur, I have my own brand which I used to sell shoes. Also wanted to start a car dealership, but sales are hard to make, especially now & too many competition so I didnt start the dealership. So I am moving towards Service Industry instead of sales. I am interested in venturing into the trucking business. I know of a couple of truckers. One of them owns his semi & trailer & one drives a semi for a company. They're both making thousands of $ weekly. Of Course the guy that owns his makes more, $5k weekly. I have no experience hauling. 

My Plans;

I plan to drive the truck myself. I am only interested in driving locally within TX or 200-300 miles radius & be home daily or most days. I'm not really interested in driving cross country long haul type of load. The guy who owns his truck persuaded me to get a Semi truck but honestly I don't think I can handle a semi truck. It takes a certain type of skill to whip that thing & it also requires a CDL which I don't have. If I do choose a Semi, I would mostly likely look for a driver. But with a Box Truck, I can drive myself. I'm honestly more interested in the box truck due to lower overhead and operating costs

The Question;

Should I get a Semi or 26ft Box Truck? Can I make a decent amount with the box truck? I'm good with netting $2k-3k weekly honestly. Thank you for looking.

2 Answers

Relevance
  • 1 month ago

Why would I hire someone with a box truck for huge sums of money that has no experience, when I can rent a Uhaul or Ryder truck for $50 a day and drive it myself?

• n2mama
    Lv 7
    1 month ago

I think you need to consider a number of other factors.