Mana asked in Business & FinanceInvesting · 1 month ago

About the stocks(Volume and Price)?

I am a beginner about stocks and living in Thailand

When I buy the stock, if the price is 500Bath(20$)

Volume: 100 Price: 5.00

Volume: 500 Price: 1.00

Both are 500Bath right, so I don’t really know what is the difference

Which one is better?

3 Answers

Relevance
  • kswck2
    Lv 7
    1 month ago
    Favorite Answer

The answer can be as simple or as convoluted as you want it to be. 

The price of a stock SHOULD reflect the value of the company divided by the amount of shares in circulation. Unfortunately that is often untrue, due to many different factors. 

Volume has little to do with the price of a stock. So a 5.00 stocks is not better then a 1.00 stock, regardless of the volume. 

To put it more simply: You hear a lot about Cheap stocks. This does Not mean the price is low, rather it means that the price reflects the value of a company very well. 

Take companies like Tesla and Amazon. Tesla is $826, Amazon is $3.104. Which one is the Cheapest stock? Amazon. Why? Because its price better reflects the sustainable value of the company. The price of Tesla is way more expensive since its value is being guessed, based on an unproven technology, and a LOT of hype. 

Sometimes you will see a P/E Ratio. Price to earnings. The Lower that number, the more fairly the stock is priced. Amazon's P/E ratio is 34, Tesla's is 1,579, which was nearly unheard of, until tech companies started appearing. 

• Steve
    Lv 6
    1 month ago