How can you determine the seam allowance of different clothing in order for it to fit properly?

I am talking about shirts and pants. 

Update:

This is for sewing with a sewing machine.

8 Answers

Relevance
  • Anonymous
    1 month ago
    Favorite Answer

The seam allowance has nothing to do with whether or not clothing fits. The seam allowance is outside the seam, and where the seam is placed is what determines how the clothes fit. The seam allowance could be 1/2 inch or it could be 3 inches and the clothes will still fit the same.

• Anonymous
    1 month ago

I am a professional seamstress who has designed and made everything from Wedding gowns to bathing suits. I have used commercial patterns and have made my own patterns for over four decades.

Patterns come in different sizes and just about every American pattern has a 5/8"seam allowance for garments and typically a 1/4"seam allowance for quilts and craft items.

The size of a garment is not determined by the seam allowance. The size is determined by the pattern size used as the garment is cut from the cloth/ fabric.

Howsoever,  sometimes if a garment is everso snug, letting out a few seams could very well accommodate a better fitting garment.

• 1 month ago

You usually don't determine a seam allowance when using a commercial pattern--they're all usually 5/8" or less, depending on the type of seam being sewn and the patterns are clearly marked. Most sewing machines have a small line next to the presser foot that is exactly 5/8" from the needle. Your fabric edge rides along this line when you sew any seam. Only seams around neck edges or to attach facings are narrower than 5/8", or when you make flat-felled or double seams for some reason. Again, your commercial pattern will have all these instructions, with illustrations.