Anonymous
Anonymous asked in Business & FinanceInvesting · 2 months ago

How do people actually lose money in the stock market? ?

I am quite new to this so excuse me if this is a dumb question but how does one actually lose money in the stock market? Can't you just buy a share and hold onto it until it becomes profitable in long run? Why is there so much stigma around the stock market that people always lose money. I am not looking for a get rich quick scheme. I don't mind buying a good stock and holding onto it for 5-10 years. 

18 Answers

Relevance
  • 1 month ago

The biggest trick to being a successful investor is to switch your focus from the current account value to the amount of assets (shares) in your account.  When I invest in a stock I am hoping I never need to sell it. Sometimes I do, but rarely. I have an overweight of dividend growing stocks and like to determine my success more on the annual amount of income my portfolio  kicks off as opposed to the current account value (which is ephemeral and frankly overstated once you consider the impact of taxes).

• Amy
    Lv 7
    2 months ago

Sure, you could just refuse to ever sell a stock that lost value. But there's usually a better investment that you want to move your money into.

Imagine that you buy a house and then it starts falling apart. You don't like to sell it at a loss, but what's the point of keeping it? It's never going to become profitable. You should sell the house at a loss and use that money to buy a smaller house that's in better repair.

Some companies go bankrupt, and their stocks cease to exist. 

Other stock prices just stay flat or grow slower than inflation, so they lose real value.

There shouldn't be stigma against long term diversified investment. But where people really lose money is in transaction fees. You pay a broker for each trade, so frequent trading costs a lot. You pay a fund manager to actively pick stocks for you.

• 2 months ago