Anonymous
Anonymous asked in PetsHorses · 2 months ago

Advice for a first time horse owner?

A friend’s horse is having twins in March, she is letting me keep one. We have spent the last month clearing out an old shed and making it a home for Rachel (what I will be naming the horse). Our garden is quite large so there will be plenty of room to practice riding, etc.

As this is my first time owning a horse and especially raising one from birth, what advice do you have for me? Any help will be appreciated, thanks.

6 Answers

Relevance
  • Anonymous
    2 months ago

The first thing you have to worry about is whether or not you're emotionally strong enough to withstand the shock of "Rachel" possibly not living long enough to even get to your place. It's extremely RARE that mares manage to carry twin foals to term, and it's even more rare that twin foals survive past infancy, even when they DO manage to get born alive. Zephania is correct. Twin foals almost never survive, and even when they do, they often have serious health issues that prevent them from living very long.