Anonymous
Anonymous asked in Arts & HumanitiesGenealogy · 2 months ago

Is Ancestry.com accurate?

20 Answers

Relevance
  • Louie
    Lv 5
    2 months ago

I've been tracing my ancestry for over 30 years & in the past I started a family tree on Ancestry.com. I entered all the names of the people in my family as far a I could remember & asked various older members in my family also. I personally checked the archives & also obtained birth & marriage certificates. After entering all my info, my tree on moms side was up to 438 members (large family) including 2nd marriages & grandchildren having children. Ancestry always gave up notices that I had possible relatives & gave the names of possible ones who usually was not correct but still had  the same last names.  The problem in the US is when folks migrated from Europe or wherever they changed their last names to sort of Americanize them. For instance De Mello was changed to just Mello, also Spanish or Portuguese names were changed to English from the translation. (Blanco which is white, & Moreno which is brown)  When a person whos name is white try's to trace their heritage all the people named white would probably be wrong unless the info indicates it was changed from Moreno.                        Some Latin families carry the fathers & also the mothers name when they name their children. This is still evident today when ever you hear someone's name like  "Jose Rodrigues Garcia", Garcia being the mothers maiden name & Rodrigues being the fathers. Rodrigues would be from the father & Garcia the mom. When these folks have a daughter & she marries, HER children would carry Garcia in moms honor, and the daughter would carry Garcia for the middle name & dads for the last name. This was so confusing for me & most of the information I got from ancestry was incorrect except the ones I actually got on my own. They keep sending me names similar to mine but not related to me at all due to the name changes in the past. So no a