Tanner asked in PetsCats · 3 months ago

I'm new to owning a cat and I'm not sure how to manage my cats litter box.?

the main thing I'm concerned about is how often I'm cleaning it. so far I've done every 4 days i take a plastic bag from the grocery store that I've stocked up on and collect all of the poop and throw it out and replace the litter every 3 weeks. I've seen online that you'r suppose to do it once or twice a day but i don't want to just waste bags and i dont want to put them it the trash can in my house because then it is going to start smelling and I'm not sure what to do

11 Answers

Relevance
  • 3 months ago

Scooping it everyday or every other day should be fine. It would be good if you had two litter boxes for one cat then add a litter box for every new cat you get. Also change the litter monthly. Have had cats for nine years and the extra litter boxes stops my one cat from peeing outside of the box. 

• Anonymous
    3 months ago

Sift the sand every day & replace the sand monthly. Tie off the bag & place it in the trash can outside.

• a
    Lv 4
    3 months ago

Keep doing that and the cat will find a cleaner place to do it's business.

I have one of those trash receptacles with a lid that opens up when you step on the pedal. I line the plastic bin inside with two small shopping bags. Litter box gets cleaned once or twice a day, and the double-bagged litter is taken away by the trash people once a week. BTW, I don't haul that waste bin out of the closet twice a day. I scoop the dirty litter into a designated dustpan, and carry that to the bin.

My current cat isn't crazy. Last cat wanted a clean box to urinate / defecate every time. She had lots of boxes. She actually got used to urinating in an empty box, which I'd tip into the toilet, rinse out, and put back down.

• Bec
    Lv 7
    3 months ago