Anonymous
Anonymous asked in Education & ReferenceHigher Education (University +) · 2 months ago

Does a college or university degree make you more educated or simply more indoctrinated?

Update:

I have a master's degree and I'm a Democrat for the idiots that assumed (made azz of themselves) that I'm on the right. 

Update 2:

It's a shame that some idiots have to politicize everything. 

17 Answers

Relevance
  • 1 month ago

It is a shame everything is politicized, but colleges are.  Unless you are studying something mathematical or an exact science, you are likely to get biased information, and it will be biased on the "Democrat" side, which I suppose you already know and won't learn too much.

• 1 month ago

Both.  I teach at three of the largest and most respected universities in the country and have my PhD, two Master's degrees, and my BA.  You will learn a lot of useful, applicable information if you take the right classes and come out educated. But there is a downside to that - some educated people are also political radicals and try to push their ideas onto students.  My advice is to learn the proper application of the scientific method and learn as much about statistics and quantitative analysis as possible so that you can run the numbers for yourself and realize how bogus many of the ideological claims are. Read some Durkheim and Comte to deprogram yourself and see what the scientific realities of the world are rather than what the loonies want the world to believe it is (but remember, according to critical theory mathematics is racist - damned numbers and objective analysis, tools of "the Man").