Is it worth selling my 09 Jetta for an 09 Corolla?

I've been debating on whether I should sell my Jetta, it an 09 2.0 TDI (diesel) engine and it has about 180k miles driven. I'm not the first owner. My cousin (mechanic) bought the car from an auction and drove it. When his brother totaled his own car, my cousin gave him the Jetta and now I'm driving it. Of course the car has been maintained to the best of my ability, and the reason I want to sell the car is because I just want something a little more basic, just to take me around. I'm just a college student but I've grown up in a Corolla household, and Ill be honest I regret buying the Jetta. I should have bought a used corolla instead.

My model and year Jetta isn't exactly what I expected. The last time I checked, the average market price is $4k for the car. But the mileages are also quite high, 300k mile. I haven't checked recently but I assume the results are the same.

Update:

CORRECTION: I just checked autotrader, and the mileages are not that high and the average price is $3k-$4k

10 Answers

Relevance
  • 1 month ago

Stick with the old car that you do know, rather than the old car that you don't know.

• Anonymous
    1 month ago

Who is winning the debate?   I am not in the debate team so it is ALL YOU to figure it out.

• ?
    Lv 7
    2 months ago

You won’t get much money for the Jetta and will probably cost you net money to buy a similar age Corolla off someone else .

If the Jetta isn’t giving you problems, why gamble on possibly buying trouble with someone else’s 11 year old car?

Forget dieselgate. It had nothing to do with the quality of the VW TDi , just meant they were not as economical as they said . I had a 2012 Passat which claimed 62 mpg (UK), frankly incredible for such a large car, but the actual 50-55 is pretty good anyway. 

Also it is quite a nice drive giving performance ranging from decent (102bhp) to seriously quick (180bhp).

• 2 months ago