Rae asked in Consumer ElectronicsCameras · 2 months ago

Panasonic GH4 stops recording?

Before anyone says this, I DO NOT have the EU version. I have the US Panasonic GH4. My issue is that, when set to record in MP4 format, the camera says it can only record for 21 minutes. But, when it records in AVCHD, it says it can record for 8hrs. But shooting in AVCHD is not practical for my purposes for the camera - I need to shoot in MP4. So, why can't I shoot for longer than 21m? Are my other settings wrong? Do I need a better memory card? What gives?

Both of my US-Version GH4's do this, so it's not a fluke. What am I doing wrong? How do I shoot for longer in MP4 format??

Current memory card: 64 gig Transcend

Update:

I appreciate the link to the manual, but the truth is, I'm an amateur and none of it really makes sense to me. I'm working with this camera because my boss bought it. Can someone just tell me what the issue is and what I need to do differently? What do my settings need to be to record longer than 21m in MP4?

3 Answers

Relevance
  • keerok
    Lv 7
    2 months ago

It's not a fluke. What you have there is a digital camera which was never meant to do video. Since video is only a feature, it is very limited and a huge limit on that is the recording time which is always less than 30 minutes. 

So the workaround is AVCHD but since you reject that option, the only thing left to do is to get yourself a digital camcorder. With the right tool for the job, you can shoot videos till kingdom come.

• ?
    Lv 7
    2 months ago

A workaround would be to record in AVCHD and then convert the file the MP4 in post.