Anonymous
Anonymous asked in Business & FinanceOther - Business & Finance · 2 months ago

Can someone in HR help me with this? Need to make a decision but I don’t have much knowledge of the field?

TLDR: Are there any underlying costs for Unpaid workers that are not related to wages?

Background: So I’m a Data Analyst currently analyzing labor costs for a company. There’s a field in the dataset called “Work Type” which shows what category people labeled their working hours as (such as Productive, Non-Productive, Vacation, Holiday, Misc, and Unpaid). However, they’re two fields - “Gross Pay” and “Work rate per hour”. When analyzing the Gross Pay field, I’ve realized there’s an accrued cost for Unpaid workers - matter of fact, it takes up 30% of all the Gross Pay! Could there be a reason for this? This dataset does not take benefits into consideration (like health/dental/etc). Ps - the total “work rate per hour” for Unpaid employees is equal to 0, which makes more sense. 

I’ve tried asking my coworker about it (she uses the same field when analyzing data for another company), but she doesn’t have any answers - she’s just as confused as me. I asked if there’s someone I can contact to talk about the dataset, and nobody knows who I can go to. I tried Googling stuff but can’t find anything. 

Update:

Ahh I see, both answers are great. That is what I figured - that they’re underlying costs. It just bothers me that 30% of gross pay is allocated to Unpaid workers in this analysis. Sadly I don’t have a list of the unpaid workers nor their job titles. 

2 Answers

Relevance
  • 2 months ago

Unpaid workers could be volunteers or interns.