Anonymous

How am I supposed to eat lunch or dinner??

I am a security guard  my post really has no spot for me to take breaks or eat my lunch.  Their is a small room which is the water meter room with company phone inside and some paperwork.  I do not own or have a car which to sit on.  My supervisor has seen me eating inside Panada Express and told me it is against company policy to be eating inside eating establishments .  I am on call or duty during my break period so I can't take my shirt off because if I receive a call I need to go handle it immediately.  He says if he catches me again he will report me and write me up for it.  I have tried sitting inside the small room the door cannot be closed and half the body is hanging out.

17 Answers

Relevance
  • Jane
    Lv 7
    2 months ago

As others have said, there are legal requirements around being able to take breaks while at work- check your contract and the employment regulations in your country/state.

I'm a chef in the UK, the work is full on all the time and it is difficult to take a lunch/dinner break. I always make sure I eat and drink enough to keep me going through the shift, I have my water bottle and food box within reach for any chance of a quick break. Panda kinda food isn't going to be good for your health on a daily basis. I plan ahead with things like easily microwaveable meals from previous day's dinners, snacky things like bananas, pitta bread and hummus, smoothies, crackers and cheese etc.If I didn't do this, I would be totally burned out! 

• Amy
    Lv 7
    2 months ago

There are legal requirements about breaks depending on how long your shift is. Find your state in this list: https://www.dol.gov/agencies/whd/state/meal-breaks

In most cases, you should have a half hour when you are genuinely off duty (not on call). 

• 2 months ago

When my children were younger id eat anytime and anywhere. Just make adjustments. Eat before you go in and take a snack during your shift. Be flexible.