My mechanic says there were 3 cables for the parking brake, Is this true?

I have a 2008 Dodge Ram 1500.  The parking brake cable rusted and now my brakes are grinding.  He said that he there is 3 cables for the parking brake. I've been a backyard mechanic with my dad for long time, I've never heard of 3 cables working the parking brake I tried to do research on the Internet to find anything on 3 cable system for my make model and year. I just want to make sure it's not something new that was implemented that I did not hear about.

7 Answers

Relevance
  • Anonymous
    2 months ago
    Favorite Answer

Yes, there are three cables. One from each rear wheel that goes into a clip attached to the third that goes from the pedal to the rear.

• Anonymous
    2 months ago

I don't know your exact vehicle, but in general, there is a separate cable from/to each rear brake, and another cable from your parking brake pedal that meets the ends of the other two cables, underneath the vehicle.  So there are likely 3 cables. 

Generally the ones going to the brakes have corroded and won't move.  Sometimes the forward cable corrodes too. 

Parking brake cables SHOULD be greased with white lithium grease every year or so. 

If you have winter with snow and salted roads, this is the biggest enemy to parking brake cables.

Source(s): Been there
  • Anonymous
    2 months ago

Sometimes. One from each rear drum to the central cable to the handle. They all stretch. I've had to replace all 3 in my old Chevy--left a long time with P. brake on

Thinking back, I coulda used a cable clamp to compensate.  Too late, now. 

• 2 months ago

Thanks you all answered my question its going to be hard selecting the best 

• How do you think about the answers? You can sign in to vote the answer.
  • ?
    Lv 7
    2 months ago

1 cable from the parking brake lever to the rear of the car. 1 cable to each of the rear wheels. 3 cables total.

• ?
    Lv 7
    2 months ago