Anonymous
Anonymous asked in Business & FinanceCareers & EmploymentHealth Care · 2 months ago

Do I suck at being a CNA?

I have been working as a nurse aide for about 6 months and still need help with certain residents. I have not had the class or certification test yet because of covid . I'm sure I made a bad impression when I first started because I have social anxiety and I am extremely shy to the point of being socially awkward . The two CNAs that were suppose to train me just decided they were going to work together which left me as the odd person out. I wasn't about to take care of the residents by myself on the first week with no help so I followed them around and watched as they did the job. When they changed a resident I would try to show that I wanted to help by grabbing pads, briefs whatever they needed . I would also pick up the dirty linen and trash for them and get call lights but I wasn't about to take a floor by myself just starting out . When all of this was going on I was extremely quite . what made it look worse was I just came from a morning shift call center job to night shift CNA so I was extremely tired for the first couple of weeks. Eventually I got the hang of what I was suppose to do and started being more independent but I'm 90ish pounds and can't fight a 200 pound resident to get the changed by myself so I still have to ask for help and when I do I get eyerolls and sighs to the point I don't want to ask for help even if I need it. The CNAs and nurses are treating me like I'm incompetent and lazy  and I don't know why?

1 Answer

Relevance
  • n2mama
    Lv 7
    2 months ago