Anonymous
Anonymous asked in Arts & HumanitiesVisual ArtsPhotography · 2 months ago

how do you easily enhance beach scenery photos in photoshop and sunsets?

im a beginner

5 Answers

Relevance
  • Sumi
    Lv 7
    2 months ago
    Favorite Answer

Landscapes can be enhanced in a variety of ways.  I normally shoot landscapes myself, and I pretty much assure you that there aren't any shortcuts especially if do not take the time to get it right in camera.

The word "enhance" is rather vague and can mean so many different things.  For example, boosting contrast or color saturation is a simple way of enhancing landscapes or any type of photo for that matter.

Each image will have it's own set of challenges.  For me, I find that dynamic range to be the most challenging.  I almost always shoot a bracketed set of images of about 3 to 5 shots each with a +/- 1 stop variant.  I'll then blend the shots in HDR software to achieve the dynamic range that I want.  Of course, I do this while avoiding the telltale look of bad HDR images.

I would encourage you to be as light handed with your editing.  We all fall into the trap of getting to use to the look of an enhanced image.  This causes us to want to boost the enhancements even more and before you know it, you've got an image that is way over processed.  To avoid this, step away from the image for a few minutes to give your eyes a rest and then come back to editing. 

A  good rule of thumb is to reduce your slider settings by 10-15%.