Anonymous
Anonymous asked in Society & CultureCultures & GroupsSenior Citizens · 2 months ago

How to I get my mom to accept a home care agency?

First of all, I am NOT a caregiver.  I have no training, no experience and am completely clueless as to what I am doing.  I came to see my mom back in March and she had completely forgotten how to cook so she really wasn't eating now lately she has had trouble walking and can't be left alone at all.  I've been having a hard time getting her to accept help from a home care agency.  I don't really know how to deal with them because my mom has mild dementia, wasn't feeling well, had a fall then she didn't want anyone in her home.  The lady who manages the homecare agency told me she had someone lined up to come over and they weren't in business to play games.  

The agency needs to come in to help give her the care that she needs, but she refuses to accept them and she has ordered me not to let them in.  One lady who was here told her it was either this or the nursing home and she screamed "Get out of my house!" "I'm not going to no nursing home and you can't make me!"

I tried to see if I could just get them for 2 days a week to get started but they are just blowing me off, they won't answer or return my phone calls and no answer to my emails.   I've since called every agency listed in the book and none of them have anyone available to come here.  

I don't know how to give her a bath or any of those things caregivers do, so I can't have them just bail on me.  

Update:

Yes, I've been staying with her and helping her, but I'm in no way shape or form a caregiver.  I need someone ASAP because I can't work since I can't leave her alone.  I need to get her help so I can get on with my life, but she just won't accept it.  

Update 2: