Anonymous

What did I do wrong?

My boss had assigned a powerpoint presentation for me to work on that will be used to train others. When she assigned it, she stated that you can ask me any questions as I know what the audience is looking for. I started a rough draft and sent it to her to let me know if I'm on the right track. She responded that it's a good start and there are some additional things for me to focus on. Fast forward three months later, she wrote me up for poor job performance and cited the rough draft (which I clearly stated is not complete and intended it as a starting example) as an example of poor work. She stated that I submitted a cursory draft for review. Why is she using this against me when I clearly stated that I just need guidance and this is what I started. I work as a budget analyst and training is something that HR should be doing and we are doing this a favor to them.

Update:

I took the feedback and used it to develop a presentation as per expectations. I was making a presentation on how governmental hearings operate and my departments role in them. I even presented that presentation to my group. I recently a compliant that I haven't been doing my work and submitting a rough draft is an example of that. Which doesn't make any sense to me. 

2 Answers

Relevance
  • n2mama
    Lv 7
    2 months ago