Anonymous
Anonymous asked in Arts & HumanitiesVisual ArtsDrawing & Illustration · 3 months ago

Is this answer too cocky? ?

I never finished anything else other than high school. I am a self-taught artist. Now. Since I was very young my talent was recognised bu people and by visual artists. But nothing was done about it when the time came. I was told that artists cant make enough money etc. I finished a high school that I absolutely did not like because Ive had no choice. After that I started working. I lost interest in studying at this time. I started doing art at home and quickly realized that Im not bad at it. I can do hyperrealism and people keep asking about some of my drawings if they are a photo or a drawing. This gave me an idea-maybe I can make a buiseness out of this etc. Which Im starting to. My sister attended an Academy of Art Uni. Here is the problem. I am sometimes compared to her. Even some guys lost interest in me because I dont have anything like this. I would like to stop this. I dont want to be compared.

My question is: is it too cocky to say to people who compare me or to people who think less of me because I have nothing to show up this while showing my art to them: "I guess I just didnt need it?" or "Do you think I really needed it?"

English is not my first language so sorry for the mistakes. 

Update:

Thank you Y! I was talking mostly about those who rejected me as I wasnt good enough for them because I didnt finish anything other than high school. I never really thought about this in a way you said: being  bit more succesfull does give me false sense of worth. I shouldnt think about myself as a less or more worthy individual based on what I wear or what sort of car I drive. So thank you I will work on this! 

John: thank you I will and its going to be worth it! In a good way.

Update 2: