Countable?Uncountable? "Pension"?

Hi, 

I'm studying English in Japan.

One of my friends asked me "the word "pension" is a countable noun. Why there is no "s" in the following sentence? There must be many people, shouldn't it be "their pensions?"

I couldn't give her any answer. 

Please somebody help me to understand why there is no plural "s"?

This job is another example of a large Government Bureaucracy, like the post office, that hires people willing to " do what they are told " and wait until they can retire and collect their pension.

5 Answers

Relevance
  • 1 month ago

The word "pension" is certainly countable, but in your sample sentence, we can interpret the meaning as "the people wait to retire and [each] collect their [own] pension".

• 1 month ago

When each person in a group has one of something, you often can use either singular or plural. They all wore a hat. They all wore hats. Pensions is definitely countable.

• 1 month ago

It could actually be "pensions" plural in that sentence.  The problem arises in the interpreted use of the generic singular "they/their" (as in one, or an individual, or even as some say "you/your") rather than an actually intentional plural. In effect, we do not speak of "one and his" but "they and their" when we mean a single generic person.  Some still use "One" as in "One should not eat while resting his elbows on the table" (or "you shouldn't eat with your arms on the table" even if they do not mean you, specifically, but really "anyone at all"), so you could say "people should not eat while resting their elbows on the table" and still really only mean one single person, a generic person, by "People" and "they" and "their".