Anonymous
Anonymous asked in Entertainment & MusicMusicOther - Music · 1 month ago

Ehhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh?

Okay so i recntly got my piano keyboard put from  the attic cuz I felt like it. I’ve started off with some easy songs off of YouTube (I don’t get piano lessons or anything I’m a noob) and I literally cannot play them. I can do the melody, I can do the backing chords/ notes, but I can’t put them together.

In a piece I’m trying to learn, the backing notes are just a single note repeated over and over while a melody goes on top. Pretty sure the time signature is 4/4 but anyway. I can’t seem to be able to play the two together since obviously they both have different sequences. So basically when I do try to play them together I play the backing notes in the same sequence as the melody. I’m not sure if that makes sense to whoever is reading but basically I think I might have some sort of issue which doesn’t allow me to do this.

My hands can’t do separate sequences so I can’t play the song properly.

Essentially the question here is:

Is this normal for a beginner? Am I doing something wrong? Is there something wrong with me lmao?

Thanks if you took the time to read this lol

Update:

Aha sorry for the epic spelling mistakes :)))

2 Answers

Relevance
  • 1 month ago

That is normal for people that try to learn without a teacher.

• 1 month ago