Anonymous

Food stamps ?

Me and my roommate are struggling quite a bit. After our bills I usually have about $50 left and my roommate may have around $150. We are paid biweekly so this isn’t enough for groceries and surviving for the next two weeks. I’ve applied for food stamps twice but it keeps getting denied and it’s getting to the point that I’ve been going to family members houses for supper. Is there anything I can do? I’m a full time student and work full time and I might have to get a second job.

11 Answers

Relevance
  • 1 month ago

I've worked 2 jobs for many years.

• 1 month ago

You haven't told us what you typically spend on your food, and what food you normally buy. Very likely you can cut down on certain items, or buy in bulk.

• 1 month ago

Without knowing your other expenses, it would be hard to give a good answer

• 1 month ago

"My roommate and I"

When my daughter was a student her weekly food budget was $30.  She lived on a very healthy diet of rice, beans and eggs.  She took lunch with her every day.  You can cut the bills by switching to a pay as you go phone contract, saves a fortune.  Use data only when on a wireless network, many of us do that.

• How do you think about the answers? You can sign in to vote the answer.
  • 1 month ago

Get a better paying job. Students are generally considered "dependents" of their parents, but whether "dependent" or not, you don't qualify for food stamps. Single adults generally do not qualify for food stamps, student or not. You do have family helping you, but you can probably do more for yourself, especially with a better-paying job. Food banks can provide a bag of staples periodically. You might also qualify for financial aid, student loans, etc.

• 1 month ago