Anonymous
Anonymous asked in Computers & InternetProgramming & Design · 1 month ago

What would I have to do to get a job as a Software Engineer?

-I have a B.S. in Computer Science.

-I was a pretty average student in college. I got mostly B's in everything

-I've been out of college for about 2 years. I have a job as an Application Support Analyst

-I don't really have any work experience related to coding besides using SQL queries 

-I've been interviewed for I'd say about 100 Entry Level Software Developer positions and have never received an offer.

-My coding skills are somewhat poor. For example, on Leetcode.com, I probably wouldn't be able to answer any questions that are Medium difficulty or harder. I can look up the solution and understand it, but I wouldn't be able to come up with it.

Is it about just practicing on my own, building my own projects, getting work experience somehow, getting a Master's, or something else?

4 Answers

Relevance
  • Scott
    Lv 6
    1 month ago
    Favorite Answer

Most students who start a computer science degree end up dropping out or changing to an easier major.  So the fact that you completed your program is a significant accomplishment.  As you know, computer science programs don’t really teach you how to code. You need to learn that on your own or through internships.

• 1 month ago

If you want to learn, starting from the easiest level at a practice site and working your way up is a better idea than worrying about things you can't solve yet.

I wasn't impressed with LeetCode for that purpose, by the way.  HackerRank, CodinGame and GeeksForGeeks all tend to have better problem descriptions and diagnostics when something goes wrong than the few examples I saw at LeetCode.  That may be just me, though.  Find something that you can have some fun with and get some practice in.