Anonymous
Anonymous asked in TravelUnited KingdomOther - United Kingdom · 1 month ago

What is the UK tax system like?

First of all, where can I download a copy of the UK tax return?  As a US CPA, I'm curious to see what a UK return looks like.  I found the website but not sure where to download the form:  https://www.gov.uk/self-assessment-tax-returns

Second of all, do you guys file your taxes or do your employers file your taxes for you?

Third, is the UK tax system based off of the American tax system (progressive tax where the poor also benefit) or is it based off of a monarchy system where the King and Queen collect the nation's tax and distribute it based on their will?

11 Answers

Relevance
  • 1 month ago

Tax Competitiveness Index 2020: Estonia has the world's best tax system – no corporate income tax, no capital tax, no property transfer taxes.

• Ludwig
    Lv 7
    1 month ago

Most people use the 'PAYE' system, whereby tax and national insurance is automatically deducted from your wages.  The exception is the 'Council Tax' which pays for garbage disposal, the libraries, holes in the pavement etc.  You get a separate bill for that.   The self-employed fill in a tax form.  Try the HMRC website.

• Anonymous
    1 month ago

In the UK most people have tax deducted at source - ACCURATELY.

In my 10 years in the workforce there, before I came to the US, I never filed a return.

• 1 month ago

Search 'www'UKGov'. 

When on that page look for money and tax. 

As a UK citizen, I use it to do my self assessment tax return . When completed it tells me how much it owes me or I owe it. 

• How do you think about the answers? You can sign in to vote the answer.
  • Zara
    Lv 5
    1 month ago

Why on earth would the UK base anything on the USAs system. Don’t they teach anything over there?

• F
    Lv 6
    1 month ago