Is the private sector worse than working for the government? ?

I've just about had it with my current job.

Despite the fact that I work for one of the country's most recognized law firms, it's actually run poorly. For example, management refuses to hire new people to relieve the amount of referrals we have to do. People drop like flies at that place. 

I use to work for Los Angeles Superior Court and for the County of Los Angeles. Both places I worked as a student worker and a student professional worker 1. When I worked for superior court, my job duties were very similar to what I do now. Only difference is I had to call attorneys to ask if they could pro-tem for various courtrooms throughout la county. We had no freaking quota or had emails sent saying you're behind for this time of day. 

After I left the courts I went on to work for the county. I had to close appeals once the appeals analyst's was finished working on the appeal. No quota, no bs emails or any of that sh!t.

I wanted to work for the private sector because I thought it would be better. It's not. We have to bring our own note pads, highlighters, pencils, sharpeners etc. They don't take care of their employees like the county did and like the courts did. 

I also noticed that my current job doesn't do anything to promote employee morale. It's always your not getting this done your behind on your referrals. And it's not just me that gets that. Everyone in the referrals section has told me they get the same thing because management tends to only cares about the numbers. 

Update:

Granted, if I only closed 8 cases from 8am to 5pm then management would be like what the heck are you doing? But there was no quota or bs emails. On average I closed about 20 cases a day. With the courts, it was like referrals. Some attorneys would just not be able to sit but it was getting your head chewed up like with referrals. 

Update 2:

Robert, 

Are you going to answer my question. 

3 Answers

Relevance