Opinions on buying a used bmw 320 from 2001?

Im a college student and I have to walk 2 hours (4 hour round trip) to go to college. I looked around and found many old bmws in the price range of 1500-2000$. I know that if you're buying a used car, Honda is the best bet but it really doesnt make sense. 2001 bmw which is.. at the end of the day a luxurious car costs 1600$ whereas a 1995 honda costs 2500$ wtf right? I live in a s hithole of eastern europe btw. 

What do you suggest? 

12 Answers

Relevance
  • 1 month ago

NO

NO

NO

NO

NO

While you may find basic parts for your car, any semi serious issue and you're screwed People with parts for that car know no one else has them and will bend you over regularly.

Find a car from where you're from that is worked on by a mechanic you trust. They are out there. Good luck

• Snezzy
    Lv 7
    1 month ago

Eastern Europe, eh? Get an old Trabant. Ought to be bunches of them around for next to nothing, and if your Trabant dies, you just leave it there and buy another. Or fix it yourself. They are supposedly easy to repair with basic tools. The Trabant is the exact opposite of the BMW.

• CB
    Lv 7
    1 month ago

By a good bicycle and all weather gear. A BMW in that range will put you back to walking sooner than later.

• Kaz
    Lv 7
    1 month ago

My opinion (for a college student with limited funds):  Get the Honda.  If anything goes wrong with a BMW it's very expensive to fix.  You could spend more on one repair than the price of the car.  Honda's are reliable and less expensive to repair.

After my new car warranty expired - EVERY time I took my BMW in for scheduled service (oil changes, etc.) it was at least $1,000.00, usually more.  I couldn't have afforded that as a college student.

• How do you think about the answers? You can sign in to vote the answer.
  • Scott
    Lv 7
    1 month ago