Anonymous
Anonymous asked in Home & GardenDecorating & Remodeling · 2 months ago

Lisa has 7 yards of material, and wants to make curtains that are 18 inches wide. How many curtains can she make?

11 Answers

Relevance
  • 2 months ago

1 yard = 3 feet = 36 inches, 36 inches ÷ 18 inches = 2

So in every yard she can make 2 curtains, ergo the ratio is 1:2 . Since it's 7 yards the ratio becomes 7:14. She can make 14 curtains.

• garry
    Lv 5
    2 months ago

7 of  course , after all you allow for the hem , so each uses 20 inches of material , rest is to small .it depends on the width of material  and the length of it .

• Anonymous
    2 months ago

I am a professional curtain designer and seamstress. Your question cannot be answered. because it is missing vital information in order to solve the equation.

Please specify the finished LENGTH (top to bottom) AND WIDTH (left to right) of the curtain ALONG WITH the width of the 7 yard piece of fabric.

Otherwise, there is no way to calculate the answer.

• Anonymous
    2 months ago

Depends on width of fabric, but typically 3 from that width, each 7 yards long. As others say, not really enough information.

• How do you think about the answers? You can sign in to vote the answer.
  • 2 months ago

We don't know, because you didn't say how wide the material is or how long the curtains are supposed to be.

• Anonymous
    2 months ago

How long are the ******* curtains? Question is unsolvable.

• enn
    Lv 6
    2 months ago

WHAT ARE THE DIMENSIONS OF THE WINDOWS NEEDING CURTAINS??

NO good sewing person just cuts fabric without measuring the dimensions of the windows first! And....

HOW MANY WINDOWS NEED CURTAINS???