Anonymous
Anonymous asked in Politics & GovernmentLaw & Ethics · 3 weeks ago

If someone fails a background check when purchasing a firearm from a gun store, can they still purchase a firearm from a friends or family?

Say for instance, a friend of mine failed a background check at a gun store and he is denied the sale of a handgun. Does that ban him from gun ownership completely, or would he still be allowed to purchase a handgun from me? Would he need to register the gun under his name? Would he or I get into any trouble for that? I’m new to the gun world and am trying to learn here so don’t judge please. It may sound like a dumb question, but some of these gun laws are a little vague and lacking in detailed information. So if he fails a background check at a gun store, can I legally sell him one of my handguns? In the state of Missouri. Thanks for the information. And I do not intend to break any laws, I’m trying to do the opposite and make sure I do the correct thing here. Thank you. 

8 Answers

Relevance
  • 3 weeks ago

No, not legally, because you cannot legally own one.

• 3 weeks ago

Only if they're able to clear whatever it was that caused the prior background check to fail. If you sell your firearm to a friend of yours, you'll still have to do the transfer through a licensed gun dealer who will perform the background check. If you plan to sell it to him for cash and not report it to anyone, then that's akin to the guy selling guns out of the trunk of his car. You would be breaking the law and also making yourself liable for any acts he performs with what's still recognized as 'your' gun.

• 3 weeks ago

If you can't pass the criminal records check, which IS NOT a background check, you can't legally POSSESS a firearm.

While the check isn't required for sales by private owners, it is still a felony to sell to someone you have reason to believe can't legally purchase a firearm.