Scott
Lv 6
Scott asked in SportsOutdoor RecreationHunting · 1 month ago

What handgun would you recommend for a 20 year old university student who plans to be a police officer?

My son has never fired a handgun in his life. And I was thinking that when he goes to the police academy, he’s going to look like a total newbie when it comes to the firearms training. So I suggested that he purchase a handgun and get a membership & class at the local gun range, so he can at least have some basic familiarity with how handguns work.

I googled it and it seems like the SIG Sauer P226 is sometimes recommended.   If this question seems stupid or uninformed, keep in mind that my family and I know absolutely nothing about handguns.

24 Answers

Relevance
  • 1 month ago
    Favorite Answer

First he needs to know the law.   You should not be the one teaching it to him because you do not know it either.   A person under 21 can not legally buy a handgun from a licensed dealer so right there he could get into trouble.   He needs to go to a gun store and find out where a range is that can rent him a gun so he can try them out before spending money on one.  

• 4 weeks ago

Glock 19 W/ A LOT ROUNDS. Just make sure you buy the right kind of 9mm ammo, it should be 9mm luger, 9x19, or 9mm nato specification. Also you should not buy or shoot any overpressure ammo unless it is specifically stated it is safe to do so in the firearm manual.

• Anonymous
    4 weeks ago

they will lend him a gun......  

• pmt853
    Lv 7
    1 month ago

That depends on which police force he hopes to join and in which country. There are still a few countires whose police are not armed with firearms unless they have been specially trained and are in armed units.

• How do you think about the answers? You can sign in to vote the answer.
  • 1 month ago

At this time he needs no firearm training as the police academy teaches many recruits with little or no or no firearm experience.