Benefits of becoming a pilot after completing bachelors in mechanical engineering.?

Hello,

I am a fresh graduate (B.Eng Mechanical engineering) and now I'm looking forward to step into aviation and start from PPL. I want to know, in near future, does me being a pilot and an engineer would be of any help to me.? Or is it good combination of skill set and certification.?

Does me as an engineer would help me to go forward in aviation field of work.? Or would it be useless if get into aviation.?Thank you.

11 Answers

Relevance
  • FanMan
    Lv 5
    1 month ago
    Favorite Answer

Would it be of any help to you in what way?  It depends on your career goals.  Being an  engineer helps understand aircraft systems and the mechanics of flight.  Being a pilot helps you with background if you're working as an engineer in an aerospace company.  Neither are necessary. 

If you like engineering, work in that field while learning to fly, get your PPL and fly for fun.  That's what I did, and I enjoy flying way too much to want to turn it into a job, and my engineering career pays for my flying addiction.

• 1 month ago

You don't want to get into aviation for the job opportunities right now. There are none. Granted aviation schools will tell you different, because if they don't, they too will have to shut down. That being said, if you want to go into aviation for the shear pleasure (and hopes of tomorrow's …) engineering is an excellent assist. Especially if you're well versed in fluid dynamics; which is what aviation all about.

• Fred
    Lv 7
    1 month ago