Anonymous

Manager Snubbed my Performance Review?

We had our mid year evaluations and although my manager asked me for feedback on what she wrote. Of course, she made virtually no changes since the last evaluation and I said I have been working towards the goals of the group for 6 months, why aren't there changes?  I also asked her to note an additional point for the record because the team uses me as an on call tutor and forces me to train new people without, themselves, contributing. They also refuse to promote me despite using me. I asked her to note down the training I've done and attached several emails reflecting my conversations with junior colleagues where I literally tell them what to do step by step. This is an indisputable fact. It's on the record. She comes back and tells me that I haven't done enough of that to justify her putting it on the review, meanwhile, this isn't even meant to be a final review so why is she expecting it to be final? And if I've done it why not acknowledge it, even if she wants to see more of it? Because this has a direct impact on my final review and my bonus I am livid. I am absolutely mortified the company has allowed this demon into its workspace and I don't know what to do anymore to defend myself, because obviously, even direct evidence doesn't help.

What should I do (besides find a new job)?

3 Answers

Relevance
  • 2 months ago

Change your attitude.  Instead of demanding things and having a huge chip on your shoulder, ask questions.  For example, if your boss said you haven't done enough of the training to count, then you should ask how much would be enough or if you can stop helping others if it isn't part of your stated goals & objectives.  If you feel you are being treating unfairly, you are welcome to ask for a meeting with the HR department as well.  

• 2 months ago

I don't see your manager snubbing you: