Anonymous
Anonymous asked in Arts & HumanitiesBooks & Authors · 4 weeks ago

why can't I use "said"?

teachers say im not allowed to use said in writing. I tried to not use it, but the writing ended up looking really weird ("she softly uttered, he vocalized, she verbalized, he pronounced"). Am I being unreasonable? How do I follow the rules without looking stupid? 

10 Answers

Relevance
  • Speed
    Lv 7
    4 weeks ago
    Favorite Answer

You replace "said" with an action.

"What do you mean?" Anonymous scratched her head.

"Have the character do something besides say words." Speed tried to look more like a helpful person than a teacher who gives vague orders without useful instructions.

"Oh, like this?" Anonymous wrote a sentence in which, instead of a dialog tag, the character who spoke got onto a bicycle and rode away.

"Exactly." Speed was pleased Anonymous understood so quickly. "Although that conversation is going to be over, right?"

I'm a pro writer. You literally cannot overuse the word "said." It becomes as invisible as "the" to the reader. Not that you should never use asked, announced, whispered, and so on, but that you don't *want* to eliminate every use of said.

• 4 weeks ago

Was this in connection with a specific exercise? Because yes, this goes against standard writing advice.

If this is for an assignment, do as your teacher requests. Maybe it's an exercise in writing as many different tags as possible? Don't worry about looking stupid, just focus on acing it.

Of course if this is something your teacher will never see, then by all means use said, leave out dialogue tags when they aren't needed, work on writing great beats, and keep down the number of cried, muttered, mumbled, yelled, hollered etc.

• I don't see anything wrong with saying "said" in writing. But you can also use words like "replied" or you can say "I told her" or you can use "explained". 

• 4 weeks ago