Is it legal for a company to mandate independent contractors converting to employees with less wages?

I am currently an independent contractor teaching one-on-one.  The company I work wants us to convert to part-time employees.  I thought I had a choice to convert or not. I did not plan to convert, for as an part-time employee, I will get $8 less than being an independent contractor.  All I was told was there would be many benefits (no health insurance or paid vacation time).  Still, those benefits are so small and incidental that they are not worth at all.

I should have asked the manager first what the company would do if I don't convert, but I did not.  The manager said, "all teachers are to be converted."

Is it lawful to mandatorily convert independent contractors to employees with much less wages, despite the fact that the workers have to sign and accept the offers in order to make it effective?

10 Answers

Relevance
  • 3 weeks ago

I suspect what happened is they got audited by the IRS and were discovered to have classified you inappropriately, and were socked with back payroll taxes.  If they control the manner and means of your rendering services, you are employee, regardless of the label they decide to put on.

• Eva
    Lv 7
    4 weeks ago

You are being converted because the company has been told they are improperly classifying you as an independent contractor. They are now paying their share of your Social Security and Medicare taxes, as well as unemployment taxes, workers compensation insurance, and possibly disability insurance.  It's costing them far more than $8 to have you as an employee than as a contractor. You may think you are being paid less, but since you're only paying 1/2 the ss and medicare tax that you did before, you probably are really getting more.

• 4 weeks ago