Is there any problem if I play the Beethoven song and upload it?

Hello? I am a student studying music. If I play a classic like Beethoven 9 and post it on my blog, is there any copyright issue?

9 Answers

Relevance
  • 2 weeks ago

soltis' recording of the 9th w chicago  SO

yvonne minton ,marti talvela,& others,

recorded in the 70s at krannert hall,, urbana U of illinois

you tube has it

• 3 weeks ago

Are you talking about Beethoven's ninth symphony? That 's not a song. You shouldn't have a problem.

• Anonymous
    1 month ago

If it's for educational, non-commercial, reasons, instead of entertainment then you're pretty safe with anything (outside YouTube, they're some oddballs).

Beethoven should be fine though, he's long dead. The Ludster lives on in our musical hearts.

• 1 month ago

no, he died too long ago for there to be any copyright issues

• How do you think about the answers? You can sign in to vote the answer.
  • User
    Lv 7
    1 month ago

The work itself (the symphony) is public domain (because of its age).

If YOU are playing the instrument(s)

then it is your rendition of the piece

and (consequently) your intellectual property.

You can use it in any way you see fit.

If

for example

you are posting someone else's rendition of the piece

(someone other than you playing the instrument(s))

then it is not your intellectual property

and you need to find out if it is or is not public domain (i.e. if the copyright owner or law allows you to use it as you see fit)

or

gain permission from the copyright owner to use it for the specific purpose intended.

• 1 month ago