Anonymous
Anonymous asked in Cars & TransportationInsurance & Registration · 3 months ago

Will I get in trouble for this?

So I was driving home from Boston yesterday and I accidentally smashed into another car as I was switching lanes. I got scared, panicked and sped away. It was night time so I don’t think the other driver seen my license plates but I drove back around that area today and noticed there is a traffic camera next to that intersection where the incident happened. Will the insurance company have the police check on those cameras or will they not even bother doing that? I drive for a living so I can’t really have any points on my license or else I risk getting terminated

15 Answers

Relevance
  • PANKO
    Lv 6
    2 months ago

Start looking for another job. One that doesn't require driving.

• 2 months ago

Looks like your heading to jail soon.

• car253
    Lv 7
    2 months ago

In California it is felony hit and run.   Yes, there will be jail time.   But if you stay at the accident you are not in trouble at all.   No ticket or jail time.   Just points on your DMV record that raise your auto insurance rates.   https://www.sweeneymerrigan.com/massachusetts-hit-...

• Anonymous
    3 months ago

I'm an insurance adjuster.  We IMMEDIATELY request the video footage.  That way it isn't lost of recorded over.

Yes, of course, the cameras will be checked.  Usually in a hit and run both the insurance company AND the Police are interested in locating the driver.

• How do you think about the answers? You can sign in to vote the answer.
  • Anonymous
    3 months ago

You had better hope to God they didn't get your plate number or cannot identify the make, model, year and color of your car (I hope they can).