I’m currently 18, and I don’t know what to do after High School?

I’m currently 18 and don’t know what to do after High School. I don’t know what my interests are career wise and am really stressed out.

As soon as I turned 18, I had so much anxiety and anxious thoughts of things like “What do I do, now that I’m 18.” “How do I reinvent myself to become a better person.” “Should I take a gap year before college?” “How do I find what my passion is and how will I get there?” All of these questions are still in my mind and I can’t help but just get anxiety just from thinking about what I want to do or where I want to go to college or if college is even for me. If I do end up going to college, I will be a first generation student, meaning that I will be the first person in my family to attend college/university

I’m entering my senior year of High School. By no means I am a terrible student. I’m not the smartest but I make decent grades with more B’s than A’s. I have a GPA of (3.61) and have taken the ACT but done poorly on it. I see others around me the same age as me or even younger, already have their life mapped and set on what they want to do. I know that most of you will reply back and say that I still have so much time to find my path but I feel like time is quickly ticking for me as there is so much pressure around me with many of my family members asking me what do I want to do. It’s embarrassing to reply with, “I don’t know.” I just need advice on what I should do to find my passion and if I should go to college.Thank You 

4 Answers

Relevance
  • 1 month ago
    Favorite Answer

You don't have to decide-- and you really can't predict -- your whole adult life right now.  All you need to do is figure out the next small step.  Here are some things to consider: