Does private colleges and high school have better quality of education than public schools and college ?

11 Answers

Relevance
  • 1 month ago

I have a PhD, two Master's degrees (with a third on the way), and a BA.  I would argue that of all the schools I have attended, I found that the best, most pragmatic education (and also the cheapest) I received was through the Cal State University system. The worst was the private law school I attended for a semester.  I think the Cal States are better than even UCLA, which I briefly attended, because the classes are actually taught by the professors and not teaching assistants.  That being said, the top ranked universities in the country are a nice mix of private and public universities.  

• 1 month ago

High schools much more so than colleges and universities.  There are some land grant universities which are every bit as prestigious as the Ivy League, e.g., the University of California system.  High schools it makes a great difference because public high schools do not require teachers to have degrees in the subjects that they teach.  Someone with a M.Ed can be tapped to teach math, science, or History.  Historians are actually discouraged from teaching in public schools because all of those coaches have to teach something, and they usually are not very good at trig.

• Anonymous
    1 month ago

*Do* private colleges and high *schools* have better quality of education than public schools and *colleges*...

It's the quality of the student body that's better.  Many public schools are party schools especially the bigger state universities.  I heard so many horror stories about drunk people pissing in stairwells and on statues it's not even funny.

• 1 month ago