Anonymous
Anonymous asked in Cars & TransportationCommuting · 2 months ago

why did a car ride my a-- the whole way home even though i was going 10 over the speed limit?

I was on the highway going home and it's a country highway so not a lot of people on it. Just one car barley over 65 one or two car lengths ahead of me and I was going like 68. The speed limit is 60. I'm a new driver so just wondering why did this guy ride my a-- the WHOLE time - like 15/20 minutes of being as close to my car as physically possible, I was even going a little over the speed limit to appease him but he just wouldn't get off of me. Why?

Update:

it was only one lane and one for oncoming traffic. no fast lane on this hw. country highway - not the main highway

7 Answers

Relevance
  • Anonymous
    2 months ago
    Favorite Answer

Because the bozo wanted to go eleven over. Some people have their own idea of fast enough, and you weren't doing it.

But that's okay. Don't stoop to their level, you have your own speed. When it is clear give them room to pass if that's what they're after. You don't need to be in the accident they're going to cause.

• 1 month ago

Get used to it - there are some tailgating morons out there.

That's what my manual transmission and hand brake are for.

• 2 months ago

It's been estimated that at least 10% of all American adults have a significant, untreated personality disorder.  So there's at least a 1 in 10 chance that any driver you observe behaving like a moron is actually not right in the head.  People also like to drink and drive.  And almost every driver also thinks he/she is an "above average driver" too - overconfidence can also play a role in people driving poorly.